WWW Wednesday 7th October 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by mary Ann Shaffer and Annie BarrowsWhen I wrote this post I was only a few pages away from the end and by Wednesday lunchtime I’ll probably have finished. I’ll have lots of good things to say about this book in my review (hopefully I can post that tomorrow…).

The blurb: January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb….

As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends—and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society—born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island—boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society’s members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.


2. The last books I read

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Rivers of London by Ben AaronovitchIf you haven’t already, you can read my full review here. I really enjoyed this. It’s a police procedural with some supernatural elements. The plot has some weaknesses, but I think that’s because the author has to invest time in world-building for future installments. I look forward to reading the other Peter Grant books in the future!

The blurb: My name is Peter Grant. Until January I was just another probationary constable in that mighty army for justice known to all right-thinking people as the Metropolitan Police Service, and to everyone else as the Filth. My only concerns in life were how to avoid a transfer to the Case Progression Unit – We do paperwork so real coppers don’t have to – and finding a way to climb into the panties of the outrageously perky WPC Leslie May. Then one night, in pursuance of a murder inquiry, I tried to take a witness statement from a man who was dead, but disturbingly voluble, and that brought me to the attention of Chief Inspector Nightingale, the last wizard in England. And that, as they say, is where the story begins.

Now I’m a Detective Constable and a trainee wizard, the first apprentice in fifty years, and my world has become somewhat more complicated. I’m dealing with nests of vampires in Purley, negotiating a truce between the warring god and goddess of the Thames, and digging up graves in Covent Garden – and that’s just routine. There’s something festering at the heart of the city I love, a malicious, vengeful spirit that takes ordinary Londoners and twists them into grotesque mannequins to act out its drama of violence and despair.

The spirit of riot and rebellion has awakened in the city, and it’s falling to me to bring order out of chaos – or die trying. Which, I don’t mind telling you, would involve a hell of a lot of paperwork.

AND

Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy #2 and #3) by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone 2 and 3 by Laini TaylorHere’s my full review. Overall, I’m glad I borrowed Books 2 and 3 of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series from the library. If I had spent my money on them I think I would have been quite upset! Such a great premise, good writing, but SO overlong and with serious structural problems.

If you’d like a bit more background on this series, check out my review of Book 1 – I had some mixed feelings but was optimistic for the rest of the series. Shame.


3. What I’ll read next

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

The Other Queen by Philippa GregoryI had hoped to already start this, but finishing the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series took longer than I thought. Those books are huge!

The (short) blurb: Two women competing for a man’s heart. Two queens fighting to the death for dominance. The untold story of Mary, Queen of Scots.

 

 

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

The Book of Lost Things by John ConnollyI saw this on the shelf at the library. I’ve discovered I have a real weakness for books with red/white/black covers as well as books about books!

The blurb: High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Chocolate orange butterfly cakes 4In other news, I finally got back to baking after a long break 🙂

If you haven’t checked them out already, here are my chocolate orange butterfly cakes.

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
42 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 7th October 2015

    • Oh good! That’s the first opinion I’ve heard from anyone else on The Little Book of Lost Things. As I said, I’ve discovered that black/white/red book covers pull me to them like magnets and then the blurb sounded good. But I’ve been let down by selecting books on these criteria in the past 🙂
      I’m just catching up with WWW posts now. I’ll head over to your asap!

      Like

  1. Glad you’re enjoying Gurnsey! I really loved that one. And I’ll look forward to your thoughts on The Other Wueen. I have that one on my shelf still. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate telling people that their reviews of books push them down on my TBR list because I know it puts pressure on them, but I’ve been putting off starting Daughter of Smoke and Bone because I know you were disappointed.
    I am, however, glad that you also enjoyed Rivers of London. I don’t think I’ve listened to all the ones that are out, but I find that, while not perfect, they are really fun books.
    Here’s my post for today: https://siderealday.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/www-wednesday-107/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t worry. I tell people that I straight-out have decided not to read books because of their reviews 🙂
      And the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series is such a huge investment of your time… it would probably keep you away from 6 (possibly better) books. Not one to be entered into lightly 🙂
      I’m looking forward to reading the whole Peter Grant series at some point. The first one was really entertaining.
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Like

  3. Interesting books on your WWW this week! I have The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, The Book Of Lost Things and the Daughter Of Smoke & Bone series on my TBR as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      Do you think, if we all do WWW Weds long enough out TBRs will sync up? haha! 🙂
      My advice with Daughter of Smoke and Bone is try the first one (which isn’t too crazily long) and if you love it, proceed to the others. If you’re luke-warm about it, books 2 and 3 can wait. After all, you could probably read 6 books in the time it takes to get through the 2 of them, and those 6 books could be a lot better!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha maybe one day! 😉
        Thanks for the advice about Daughter Of Smoke And Bone; I will definitely keep it in mind when I start reading the series. I have so many books I still need to read I think I prefer reading 6 over 2 books if the series is not that good.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I adore The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, living in Jersey much of the history in this book correlates to the history I’ve discovered since living here – both Channel Islands were occupied during the Second World War – and I can’t believe it took me until this year to read it. The Book of Lost Things also sounds like something I would enjoy. Thanks for visiting my Wednesday post earlier https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/this-week-in-books-october-7/

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is very interesting. All I knew before was that the islands were occupied, but none of the amazing details in the book.
      I’m starting to hear good things about The Book of Lost Things from other bloggers, so I’m going in with hope 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Like

  5. I read The Book of Lost Things years ago and I forgot about most of the story but I remember really liking it! I’ve been thinking of rereading it, tell me what you think about it once you’re finished with the book! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the second two books in the DoSaB series! I hope your next reads bring better luck for you. I’m particularly interested in your thoughts on The Book of Lost Things, it’s on my TBR and it seems interesting. ❤️ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

