The Beautiful Blogger Award

Beautiful Blogger Award badge pink

I’m slowly starting to make my way through my tags and nominations. Sorry for the delay!

Thank you to Amy at Curiouser and Curiouser, and Alicia at Caffeine and Books for nominating me. This is such a lovely award and getting your nominations made my day!

Also, being the Beautiful Blogger Award, it’s a top excuse to use this gif:

Dr Who You are beautiful gif

One for the Whovians there. You know who you are πŸ˜‰

To make up for how long it took me to respond to their kind nominations, please everyone check out Amy and Alicia’s wonderful blogs and their great book reviews.

The Rules:

  • Link to the blogger who took the time to nominate you.
  • List seven random things about yourself.
  • Nominate seven creative, beautiful bloggers and notify them (I’m going to cheat here)

Seven random things about me:

  • I’ve been lucky enough to travel to all the continents except South America. I got as far south as Guatemala, but that’s it.
  • If I make it to South America, Argentina would be at the top of my list of countries to visit.
  • I’m a Spanish-English translator but I only started learning Spanish after I finished university (and I think I only truly started learning once I moved to Spain!).
  • Now that my son is nearly 3 years old, I know several children’s stories off by heart and can recite them. These include classics by Jill Murphy and Julia Donaldson.

Julia Donaldson and Jill Murphy classics

  • I’m currently being made to watch more games of rugby than is good for anyone. In case you don’t know, the Rugby World Cup is currently underway and is on until the end of October. My husband is a big fan of the game, which is odd because he’s from Spain, a country with no tradition of the sport. We also live in Rugby, so I couldn’t avoid it if I tried!
  • Some of my all-time favourite books would be classified as “children’s” books. To me, a good book is a good book and defies classification. And if you haven’t read Howl’s Moving Castle yet, please do πŸ™‚

Howl's Moving Castle quote sophie

  • I am so bad at thinking up random facts about myself. Is this just me?!

Thank you again to Amy and Alicia for nominating me for this award.

I know too many beautiful and creative bloggers to single out any in particular. So, if you’re reading this post and do have a skill for coming up with and sharing random facts about yourself, please consider yourself nominated! πŸ™‚

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
13 thoughts on “The Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations Claire! Yes, it’s hard thinking up facts! That’s why I made one big post for all the awards we received! My son plays rugby but I still haven’t learned the game either LOL – the story that two of my four boys asked for repeatedly when growing up was Goodnight Moon…so simple yet they absolutely adored it..night after night,..even now (ages 17 & 19) they can recite it by heart πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And I’m relieved problems with random facts isn’t just me…
      I’m impressed they can still recite it now! I don’t know if The Gruffalo etc. will continue to be as popular, but my favourite is Room on the Broom!
      I don’t think I’ll ever understand all the rules of rugby, but I imagine I’ll have to watch my son play a few games. Going to school in Rugby, you can’t really avoid playing it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A well-deserved award! Congratulations! I love the animated movie “Howl’s Moving Castle” but I haven’t read the book yet. I’ve been meaning to ask if you also enjoy reading books in Spanish? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      The book and the film are quite different animals. I’d say the movie is “inspired” by the book and good in its own right. The book is just fantastic and gets better each time you read it because you understand all the magical goings-on better, although to be honest I don’t much care about all that – it’s the relationship between Sophie and Howl which is so brilliant.
      I do enjoy reading in Spanish although I haven’t read anything in Spanish for a while. When we were living in Spain I belong to a book club (founding member!) and I really enjoyed going to our meetings.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, that’s very neat about the book club! I’ve always wanted to learn Spanish and someday I’ll actually get to it, ha ha. Thanks for the heads-up about the book. It sounds worth checking out. Funny how books and movies often end up quite different. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

