Pastry Book Tag

I was tagged for the Pastry Book Tag by three lovely bloggers: Erika, Simon and Ashley. Thank you for the nominations and sorry it’s taken me so long to do this ๐Ÿ˜ฆ To compensate in some way for my tardiness, please visit their fantastic blogs!

The Pastry Book Tag was originally created by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter.

Here’s goes…

1. Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Harry Potter series

 

Not the most original answer, but the Harry Potter series is still the most universally-loved series I can think of!

 

 

 

2. Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

An Ember in the Ashes book 1 by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (click on the title for my review)

Not exactly “hard to get through”; more “hard to get with”. It certainly took me a while to warm up to this book. The ending was good and I have more hope for the next installment in the series now.

 

 

3. Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

Disclaimer by Renee Knight book cover

Disclaimer by Renee Knight.

I’ve gone on enough about this, so I’ll just say the book had an amazing premise but I didn’t get on with the characters and wasn’t impressed by the twist.

 

 

4. Pain au chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab book cover

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I managed to start Vicious this without reading the blurb, so I didn’t really know what I was getting into. It was a pleasant surprise! A brilliant book.

 

 

5. Profiterole: Name a book or series thatย doesnโ€™tย get enough attention.

A Darker Shade of Magic book cover by V E Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I don’t know quite how much attention ADSOM gets, but I think it could do with more. Everyone who likes fantasy fiction should read this book. It’s marvellous. I can’t wait for the next book which is out in February.

 

 

6. Croquembouche: Name a book or series thatโ€™s extremely complex.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

A Song of Ice and Fire (aka Game of Thrones) by George R. R. Martin

Again, not a very original answer – sorry. But seriously, I’m in awe of how the author keeps track of all the characters. He has created a cast of hundreds, all named with back-stories.

 

 

7. Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

I read this quite recently, after having seen the movie version a couple of times. And this is one of the rare occasions when I actually preferred the movie.

 

 

8. Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

The title says it all!

 

 

 

9. Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

The Martian by Andy Weir book cover

The Martian by Andy Weir

Any excuse to plug The Martian and recommend it to everyone who hasn’t read it yet. Get there before the film comes out next week!

 

 

10. Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

 

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

I always liked the sound of Whipple-Scrumptious Fudgemallow Delight. Dahl was a genius.

 


I won’t nominate anyone else, because I’m getting to this so late I think everyone’s already done it! But if you’re reading this and like the look of the tag, consider yourself tagged! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks again to Erika, Simon and Ashley.

ย Claire Huston / Art and Soul
10 thoughts on “Pastry Book Tag

  1. Better late than never! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wow you’re the first that didn’t praise Ember in the Ashes which is quite refreshing. And I really need to read The Martian. I’ve been seeing the book everywhere. I’m curious as to see what the hype ka about.

    Thanks for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

