WWW Wednesday 16th September 2015

IMG_1384-0

I won’t be at a computer until later today, so I’ve scheduled this post. But I’ll visit your posts and reply to your comments later, I promise!

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

An Ember in the Ashes (Book 1) by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes book 1 by Sabaa TahirAnother series I feel like I’m the last person to get to! This is just getting started now I’m 30% in. Nothing extraordinary so far, but there’s potential…

The blurb: Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.


2. The last books I read

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2), Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) and Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas 

Throne of Glass series books 1 to 4 by Sarah J Maas

I caught up with the Throne of Glass series and I’m glad I did. This is a highly enjoyable, easy-to-read fantasy series with lots of strong, resourceful female characters. And, in the case of Queen of Shadows, it’s also nice to read something published so recently for a change!

Here are my reviews of Throne of Glass (Book 1), Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire (joint review of Books 2 and 3) and Queen of Shadows (Book 4).

The blurb: This is a fantasy series about the adventures of a teenage female assassin and her friends, battling forces of darkness. It’s a bit Lord of the Rings (but with some women who kick ass) and Star Wars, with a lot of love of cool clothing.

AND

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie FordThis was a sweet story set in a very interesting period of recent history. Here’s my review.

The (short) blurb: Set during one of the most conflicted and volatile times in American history, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is an extraordinary story of commitment and enduring hope. In Henry and Keiko, Jamie Ford has created an unforgettable duo whose story teaches us of the power of forgiveness and the human heart.

 

 


3. What I’ll read next

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Book 1) by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini TaylorAfter avoiding series for a while I seem to up to my neck in them at the moment!

The blurb: Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

AND

The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2) by Patrick Ness

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness Chaos Walking 2I’ve just discovered my magnificent public library loans this as an epub! Looking forward to continuing with the trilogy.

The blurb: No blurb to avoid spoiling the first book in the trilogy, but I don’t think it’s too much to say this is about the continuing trials and tribulations of our young hero, Todd Hewitt, struggling to survive on an alien world where the thoughts of all men are audible.

 

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
37 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 16th September 2015

    • I don’t think I’m as big a fan of the ToG series as some, but I can understand why it’s so popular. It’s brilliant escapism and so easy to read. The second book is particularly good. I hope you continue to enjoy it.
      I’m a bit behind today but I’ll head over to your this week in books post now…

      Like

  1. I still haven’t gotten to An Ember in the Ashes but I feel like I never read what’s hyped when it’s hyped so I’ll get to it eventually. lol. I hope to read A Daughter of Smoke and Bone soonish too. Just not sure when. Awesome job marathoning ToG though. Wish I could say the same for myself. Thanks for visiting earlier. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I only managed the ToG marathon because we were on holiday! Now we’re back I don’t think I’ll be getting through that many books as quickly. I never seem to get to anything when it’s hyped either. But then that’s probably good because often I end up being disappointed.
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you enjoyed ‘Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.’ It’s cuteness is infectious. I want to eventually read Taylor’s series as well, but I’m not quite ready for it yet. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad to hear you liked Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. It’s still one of my favorite non-fantasy books. And wow you burned through the Throne of Glass series! Hopefully I’ll be able to do the same, provided I manage to get them from the library.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ember in Ashes sounds good and so does the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. Great title! You jump around genres as much as I do! And must get Throne of Glass books for next week!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

