Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Firstly, apologies to everyone who has tagged me over the past couple of months. I am SO behind. But I thought I had to give this tag priority because we’re already way past “mid-year” and soon there’ll be a “end of year” tag to do!

I was tagged by Illeanas Book Reviews and Travelling in my Bookcase. Please check out their great blogs and their answers to the questions in this tag – they recommend some great books. I’m so sorry it’s taken me a while to do this and thank you for tagging me.

Clicking on a single book cover image to go to the Goodreads page. I’ve linked most titles to my reviews.


1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015

Mid-year freak out tag best reads

I’ve given four books 5 stars so far: Vicious and A Darker Shade of Magic, both by V.E. Schwab; A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness; and The Martian by Andy Weir. I encourage everyone to read these fantastic books. Click on the titles for my reviews.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015

I haven’t read many, but I’d say Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. Closely followed by The Scorch Trials by James Dashner and Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

I’m not very good at keeping up with what’s new or not. I guess I can just squeeze in Queen of Shadows (fourth installment in the Throne of Glass series) which I’m reading as I write this and will probably have finished by the time this post is published.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

See answer to 3 (given that we’re in the 2nd half of the year already).

5. Biggest disappointment

Disclaimer by Renee Knight book cover

Disclaimer by Renee Knight. Such a fantastic premise, but I just didn’t find any of the characters sympathetic enough to care.

6. Biggest surprise

Probably The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine. It was really enjoyable, a good “cute” mystery. I only bought it because I loved the cover and was delighted that the insides were as good.

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

As you might guess from my answer to question 1: V.E. Schwab. I can’t wait for the release of A Gathering of Shadows (the sequel to ADSOM) next year.

8. Newest fictional crush

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Definitely Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I know Cath was the main character but, for me, Levi stole the show!

9. Newest favorite character

Probably Mark Watney from The Martian. That is the guy you want to be stuck with should civilization ever go to the wall. He’d get you through a zombie apocalyse, telling funny jokes as he went.

10. Book that made you cry

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness book cover

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness made me cry a lot.

11. Book that made you happy

Sorry to repeat myself but I read a lot of Fangirl with a grin on my face.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

Since my son was born nearly 3 years ago I’ve hardly been to the cinema, so I don’t have an answer for this one. However, I am looking forward to seeing what Ridley Scott makes of The Martian.

Also, it’s probably worth mentioning my review of The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick, in which I pointed out that the film is better than the book – not something I say often!

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year

Er. Not sure that’s one for me to judge! I’m always pleased when I manage to post a review, particularly when I have mixed feelings about a book and find it hard to explain why I didn’t enjoy it.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine book cover

Easy: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow. Look at that gold embossing! Honorable mentions should go to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of this year?

I want to read so many. “Need” though? None really. I’d like to finish the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. I’d also like to read the Jasper Dent series by Barry Lyga (I’ve been warned it’s highly addictive, so if I start before the end of the year, I’ll finish!).


That’s it! I won’t tag anyone else because I think most of you have already done this tag. But if you’d like to do it, please do and let me know!

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
Leave a Reply

