Review | Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Hooray and huzzah! I’ve finally read Throne of Glass and wasn’t disappointed. 3.5/5 stars.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I’m making myself write this before moving onto the next book in the series, which I will be doing asap. I enjoyed spending time with the characters of the first book and want to know what happens next. And I don’t feel like a need a rest, like I did after The Knife of Never Letting Go.

The world building here is impressive, although I thought more explanation of the magical shenanigans would have been helpful. There is also some “foreign terms fatigue”, which many first installments seem to suffer from. Understandably, the author needs to introduce us to the main places and people in her world, but perhaps there is some way to do this to make them easier to remember? There were a few points where I thought, “Who’s that again?” and “Where’s that and why do we care?” And that was reading the book in 2 or 3 sittings and I have quite a good short-term memory!

The love triangle wasn’t annoying which is an achievement all in itself. I’m a bit behind with the Throne of Glass phenomenon, so I don’t know if there are “Team Chaol” and “Team Dorian” camps, much like with Twilight. But if they are, I am Team Chaol all the way. It’s not that Dorian is unlikeable, but come on! The book is almost hitting the reader over the head with a stick to point out who is the most suitable suitor. [SPOILER ALERT] I never had more respect for Celaena than when she dumps the Crown Prince at the end. Too right! Most sensible decision she makes in the entire book.

As a young heroine, Celaena is brave and intelligent, but I hope she will mature and make some more sensible decisions in the rest of the series (she is only eighteen). I know we’ve all sat up into the early hours reading a good book, but I’d hope none of us had life-threatening trials against trained killers the next day.

All in all, a good start to the series. I hope Sarah J. Maas can maintain the standard in the following installments.

The blurb: In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
12 thoughts on “Review | Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I agree that the love triangle wasn’t annoying at all. I’ve just started Crown of Midnight because I did take a break between books the foreign word fatigue point is definitely hitting home. I don’t remember a lot of the different names for the nations/continents in the world so I feel like I’m stumbling around.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can imagine! I’m glad I’ve read them back to back. When book 5 comes out next year I’m going to spend a lot of time wondering what on earth she’s talking about.
      I think Crown of Midnight is better than the first book because the set-up is there and the characters can just get on with it. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  2. Everyone is team Chaol, but I love Dorian! lol. I guess I should probably read the other books (I’ve only read Throne of Glass) and see why everyone loves Chaol more! lol.
    Great review! It took me a really long time to get into Throne of Glass, but the ending was fantastic and definitely kept me interested enough to check out the next book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I pretty much felt the same way with Throne of Glass, I thought it was good, and I liked Chaol, but so far it hasn’t wowed me as I was getting confused as well. I hear that it gets so much better though so I’m excited! I have the second one on hold!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Review | Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas | Art and Soul

  5. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 16th September 2015 | Art and Soul

  6. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 21st September 2016 | Art and Soul

  7. Pingback: Review | Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas | Art and Soul

  8. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 28th September 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

