WWW Wednesday 9th September 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. MaasΒ 

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

The Throne of Glass series is living up to its reputation as “book crack”. Having sped through Throne of Glass, I’m now on the second book and will shortly start the third! I’ll be up-to-date soon πŸ™‚

The blurb: I won’t post a blurb here in case I spoil anything for those yet to catch up with the series. Click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page for more info.


2. The last books I read

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick NessYou can read my full review here. After how much I enjoyed A Monster Calls, I was expecting great things from The Knife of Never Letting Go, and – on the whole – it didn’t disappoint. Be warned though: it ends on an almighty downer and a behemoth of a cliff-hanger. Probably best to invest in the whole series before starting it. That said, I did finish feeling like I could do with a break. I became so invested in the characters and their struggles, I reached the end exhausted

The blurb: Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

AND

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

The Paying Guests by Sarah WatersYou can read my full review here. I found this good, but not extraordinary. I felt it could have been better with some severe editing to bring it down from 600 pages to 400. Perhaps the author has reached that stage of fame where editors are scared to order you to cut a third of your word count (c.f. J.K. Rowling and the last couple of Harry Potter installments).

The blurb:Β It is 1922, and London is tense. Ex-servicemen are disillusioned, the out-of-work and the hungry are demanding change. And in South London, in a genteel Camberwell villa, a large silent house now bereft of brothers, husband and even servants, life is about to be transformed, as impoverished widow Mrs Wray and her spinster daughter, Frances, are obliged to take in lodgers.

For with the arrival of Lilian and Leonard Barber, a modern young couple of the ‘clerk class’, the routines of the house will be shaken up in unexpected ways. And as passions mount and frustration gathers, no one can foresee just how far-reaching, and how devastating, the disturbances will be.

AND(!!!)

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. MaasReview to be posted tomorrow! I’m so pleased I’ve finally read this. And even more pleased that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The blurb: In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournamentβ€”fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?


3. What I’ll read next

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas Next up! As with Crown of Midnight at the top of this post, I won’t include the blurb in case I spoil anything for anyone hoping to catch up with the series soon. Click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page.

 

 

 

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie FordI’ll try and read this too this week, as soon as I finish the Throne of Glass blitz!

The (short) blurb:Β Set during one of the most conflicted and volatile times in American history, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is an extraordinary story of commitment and enduring hope. In Henry and Keiko, Jamie Ford has created an unforgettable duo whose story teaches us of the power of forgiveness and the human heart.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
36 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 9th September 2015

    • I’d definitely read another book by her as her writing is good. Plus, I’ve heard that her earlier books are shorter (those editors taking the knife to things!), so I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s no drag.
      Thanks for visiting – I’ll check out your post now πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with you that the Paying Guest is too long and could use a better edit, just like the #5 & 6 of the Harry Potter series!!! I’m tempted to head to the library or bookstore right now and pick up the rest of the TofG series because everyone is reading them! Loved the first one, need to read more!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

