WWW Wednesday 19th August 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel book coverI’ve only just started this, and I don’t think it’s really “kicked in” yet. Did anyone else find it slow going at first?

The short blurb (for more, click on the book cover image to go to Goodreads): An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.


2. The last books I read

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine, illustrations by Julia Sarda

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine book coverRead my full review here. This is a fun, light mystery. A potent mixture of Nancy Drew, The Famous Five and Sherlock Holmes tales, all set at the start of the twentieth century in a sumptuous London department store. Ideal if you need something light and enjoyable to read after a heavy-going or traumatic book.

The blurb (their caps)You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store!

Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villains to justice…

AND

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian by Andy Weir book cover

You can read my full review here. Make sure you have time to finish this book in one go before you start it. DO NOT start it late at night if you have to get up early the next day (yes, I made this mistake). Gripping, exhausting and at times very funny, if this doesn’t make a brilliant film (choice of Matt Damon to play Watney = excellent) then many people need to get fired.

What it’s about: Astronaut Mark Watney gets stranded on Mars. He has no way to communicate with Earth or the crew mates who abandoned him, thinking he was dead. Will he be able to survive and get home? 


3. What I’ll read next

My copy of The Wrath and the Dawn finally arrived! I’m so excited for this one.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The (long) blurbIn a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

Claire Huston / Art and Soul
40 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 19th August 2015

    • I thought I’d need to hang in there with Station Eleven. But if more hasn’t started happening by page 100 (nearly there), I might start to despair!
      I think The Martian could work for a book club… Everyone would certainly enjoy it. I just did a quick Google and turns out it was a Richard and Judy book club read, although I think someone might have to make a list of discussion prompts, just in case. 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I do hope it piques your interest soon or that’ll be another book I’ve recommended to you which you’ve not loved!
        I’m definitely picking The Martian for book club now, we’ve not read a sci-fi so that’ll mix things up a bit 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve had Station Eleven on my wishlist for a while now, I hope it picks up for you! You already know I loved The Martian as well and I hope you will enjoy The Wrath And The Dawn.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I almost bought The Martian yesterday because of your awesome review but I didn’t want the cover with the little circle telling you it will be made into a major motion picture. I’m going to search around for one without that before buying but it was mostly your review that made me want to get it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does! It’s clearly influenced by all the other stories I mention in my review plus even a bit of Wodehouse and Agatha Christie. The descriptions of London at the time with the “omnibuses” are lovely, and then at one point I forgot it was set a century ago until the heroine has to run and struggles to breathe because of her corset!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction for the WWW!!! The Wrath and the Dawn looks great and every time I read something on the Martian, I vow to get myself a copy and read it! Have a great week!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really liked Station Eleven, but if I remember correctly, after I read the beginning I was kind of neutral, like, “that’s pretty writing and it’s interesting, but it wasn’t blowing me away. I think it’s a book that explores a situation first, characters second, and the plot is pretty far down on the list, although it was enough to interest me. I kind of think of it as a “storytelling” book, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am now on page 120ish and if the plot doesn’t kick in soon I’m going to have to start skim reading! I don’t mind character/situation development if I have the promise of some significant action on the horizon, but at the moment I can’t see it coming… I’m going to hang in there though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

