WWW Wednesday 12th August 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine book coverI don’t know how else to describe this but “cute”. It’s a cosy mystery set at the start of the twentieth century in the setting of a sumptuous London department store blatantly modeled on Selfridges. It’s enjoyable so far and the illustrations are lovely.

The blurb (their caps)You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store!

Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villians to justice…


2. The last books I read

The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

The Last Runaway Tracy Chevalier book coverYou can read my full review here. Chevalier keeps up her high standards with her first novel set in the USA. The Last Runaway tackles difficult themes (slavery and women’s rights to name just two) within an engaging and interesting story. I don’t think Chevalier gets enough praise for writing historical novels which show often familiar events from the viewpoint of believable female protagonists. Writing “herstory” is an under-appreciated art.

The blurb: In New York Times bestselling author Tracy Chevalier’s newest historical saga, she introduces Honor Bright, a modest English Quaker who moves to Ohio in 1850, only to find herself alienated and alone in a strange land. Sick from the moment she leaves England, and fleeing personal disappointment, she is forced by family tragedy to rely on strangers in a harsh, unfamiliar landscape.

Nineteenth-century America is practical, precarious, and unsentimental, and scarred by the continuing injustice of slavery. In her new home Honor discovers that principles count for little, even within a religious community meant to be committed to human equality.

However, drawn into the clandestine activities of the Underground Railroad, a network helping runaway slaves escape to freedom, Honor befriends two surprising women who embody the remarkable power of defiance. Eventually she must decide if she too can act on what she believes in, whatever the personal costs.

AND

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard by book coverLast week I asked for your help on deciding what to read next (thank you all for your suggestions!) and the majority suggested I go for Red Queen. Sorry to those of you who love this book, but I can only say I liked it. It’s an entertaining, well-written book, but I think it suffers from being the first in a series. You can read my full review here.

The blurb:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win


3. What I’ll read next

The Martian followed by Station Eleven! I’ve only heard good things about both of these so I’m really looking forward to them 🙂

The Martian and Station Eleven book covers


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
37 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 12th August 2015

  1. Definitely agree with you about Red Queen! I’m going to carry on with the series but I didn’t really understand the big hype around it. And have fun with The Martian and Station Eleven! I started the Martian a few weeks ago but I think I just wasn’t in the mood for it so had to put it down – I’m hoping to pick it up again soon and form a better opinion because the story did intrigue me 🙂

    My WWW post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you like The Martian! I really loved it. And I’ll be reading Station Eleven myself in the future. I’ve heard great things. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m also toying with the idea of reading The Martian before the movie comes out. I’ll see how I’ll feel about it after I finish my current book. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t when I’ll get the chance to see the movie, but the trailer looks amazing. This does mean I’ll be reading the book picturing Matt Damon though – good thing he’s one of my favourite actors 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Like

  4. I hope you’re enjoying The Mystery of Clockwork Sparrow, it seems like an interesting novel! And The Martian and Station Eleven has gotten a lot if praise, I agree! I hope you enjoy them both once you read them, I’ll be looking out for your thoughts. ❤ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow sounds really interesting!
    I’ve been seeing The Martian around a lot lately. I think I may have to check it out. I’ve been back and forth on whether I wanted to or not.
    Great post! I hope you enjoy your next reads!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like the sound of The Mystery Of The Clockwork Sparrow! And I will be trying to read The Martian as well. 😉 I’m sorry to hear you didn’t end up enjoying Red Queen that much!

    Happy Wednesday and thanks for visiting my WWW!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Red Queen I feel is one I need to read. I tried to listen to the audiobook, but I keep getting lost. I think it’s one I need to sit down for. I hope I like it at the very least the cover is to die for! =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

