WWW Wednesday 5th August 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

The Last Runaway Tracy Chevalier book coverAs I have come to expect from Chevalier, this is a meticulously researched book with engaging characters. I’ll finish it soon.

The blurb: In New York Times bestselling author Tracy Chevalier’s newest historical saga, she introduces Honor Bright, a modest English Quaker who moves to Ohio in 1850, only to find herself alienated and alone in a strange land. Sick from the moment she leaves England, and fleeing personal disappointment, she is forced by family tragedy to rely on strangers in a harsh, unfamiliar landscape.

Nineteenth-century America is practical, precarious, and unsentimental, and scarred by the continuing injustice of slavery. In her new home Honor discovers that principles count for little, even within a religious community meant to be committed to human equality.

However, drawn into the clandestine activities of the Underground Railroad, a network helping runaway slaves escape to freedom, Honor befriends two surprising women who embody the remarkable power of defiance. Eventually she must decide if she too can act on what she believes in, whatever the personal costs.


2. The last books I read

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow RowellYou can read my full review here. I enjoyed this so much. I had a few minor quibbles, but overall it’s a fun read and I was sorry when it was over.

The short version of the blurb because the full one is SO long: A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. If you click on the cover image you can read the longer version on Goodreads.

 

AND

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew QuickI enjoyed the film Silver Linings Playbook, so when I saw the book in the library I thought, “Why not?”. You can read my full review here. Short version: it’s good, but the film is better. And I don’t say that often!

The blurb: Pat Peoples has a theory that his life is actually a movie produced by God, and that his God-given mission in life is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure a happy ending – which, for Pat, means the return of his estranged wife Nikki. (It might not come as any surprise to learn that Pat has spent several years in a mental health facility.)

The problem is, Pat’s home now, and everything feels off. No one will talk to him about Nikki; his beloved Philadelphia Eagles keep losing; his old friends are saddled with families; he’s being pursued by the deeply odd Tiffany; his new therapist seems to recommend adultery as a form of therapy. Plus, Kenny G keeps haunting him!


3. What I’ll read next

I need your help! I have too many choices and don’t know which one to pick first… (#firstworldproblems!).

WWW Wednesday to read book covers 5 August 2015 v2

I own three of these thanks to your recommendations. And The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is mine simply because the cover is possibly the loveliest thing I’ve seen this year (it has gold embossing on it people – come on!).

My options (with links to Goodreads for more info):

What should I go for first? I’m leaning towards the Woodfine just for something completely different…


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

Claire Huston / Art and Soul
38 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 5th August 2015

  1. I think I would vote for Station Eleven, too. I wasn’t that fussed on the Martian, but I haven’t come across the other three on your list.

    I haven’t read Silver Linings Playbook but if memory serves, I only have one movie that I feel is better than the book, and that is Ella Enchanted. The movie changed the ending so that it didn’t just turn into Cinderella three chapters from the end. Which was nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Fangirl as well and I will be trying to read The Silver Linings Playbook at some point as well as I really enjoyed Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. I really enjoyed reading Red Queen myself and I will be trying to read The Martian this month as well… But The Mystery of The Clockwork Sparrow sounds definitely interesting.

    Happy Wednesday! Thanks for visiting my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! The movie was better for Silver Linings! Interesting. It’s so sad when that happens but sometimes I feel like things need to be condensed a bit more than they are in certain books. I have yet to read that one though.

    The Red Queen looks marvelous! I haven’t seen Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow but that one looks good too. Tough choice!

    My WWW

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ‘Fangirl’ is such a good one! Glad you enjoyed. And I liked ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ better as a book though I read it before the movie so I was mad at how much changed and couldn’t enjoy the movie as much. Go for ‘The Martian!’ It’s really incredible. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I completely agree about Silver Linings, I enjoyed the book but I loved the film. And I need to read The Last Runaway soon! I would probably vote for Red Queen although The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow seems to be everywhere I go lately so it’s calling me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really liked The Martian but parts of it were tedious with all the science speak (I didn’t need to know EVERY single detail about growing potatoes in a hammock), and I LOVED Red Queen, which I didn’t expect at all.

    Thanks so much for visiting, and for linking to my blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have The Martian and Station Eleven on my TBR, along with Red Queen, I hope you enjoy them all. Though I know by now you’ve posted a review on Red Queen, gonna be checking it out soon. 😄 And I’m glad you liked Fangirl, it’s a great book! ❤ Thanks for visiting my WWW, happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

