Review | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

A terrific read thanks to its cast of engaging characters. Funny and moving in places, this is one for all us keen readers and anyone who has ever been an obsessive fan of anything. 4/5 stars.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This book is proof that if you create wonderful characters it doesn’t matter much what they get up to (including sitting about reading and writing fan fiction), we’ll enjoy spending time with them. The main character, Cath, was great, but for me it was Levi who stole the book.

So why didn’t I give Fangirl 5/5 stars?

Firstly, I thought the Nick plot needed greater development. [SPOILER ALERT] Something more significant needed to happen between him and Cath; he should have led her on more so his “betrayal” was more serious. As it was, it was bad, but Cath got over it fairly quickly and I forgot about Nick until he showed up for a random scene in the corridor at the end of the book. Also, if Nick had got closer to Cath we could have enjoyed some crazy jealous Levi (which would probably involve him frowning, clenched his fists and being overly polite!) which would have been some more payback for him kissing random girl at the house party.

Second, the end of the book left me a little dissatisfied. It felt as if we were being set up for a sequel, but apparently the next book will be a Carry On spin-off rather than a direct follow-on to Fangirl. Perhaps Rowell is keeping her options open for a future sequel?

Even with my quibbles, this is a fantastic read and I highly recommend it!

What did you think of Fangirl? Which of Rainbow Rowell’s books should I read next? Let me know!

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
16 thoughts on “Review | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Nice review! I definitely agree with your comments, especially on the whole Nick situation. I really liked him at first too, so when the whole betrayal thing went down, it didn’t seem finished or give me much closure. But Levi was the real star of the show, like you said. ❀ I really enjoyed this book, and if you haven't already, you should read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. A much different plotline, but still amazing.

    Like

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 5th August 2015 | Art and Soul

  3. So glad you enjoyed this book! I really loved this one, Cath and Levi were such awesome characters. Cath was so relatable, and Levi definitely stole the show. I get what you mean about the whole Nick plot thing, though I actually never really thought about it that much until you mentioned it now. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed this book! I’ve yet to read Rainbow Rowell’s other books, but I did read and really enjoy Eleanor & Park. ❀ Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

