WWW Wednesday 29th July 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow RowellI got this for myself for my birthday. Nearly finished already and I think it’s brilliant 🙂

The short version of the blurb because the full one to SO long: A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. If you click on the cover image you can read the longer version on Goodreads.

 


2. The last books I read

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler book coverYou can read my full review here. I enjoyed this, even though I didn’t know much about Amy Poehler or her work before reading. It’s an odd mixture of funny and serious and a little all over the place, but I appreciated her sincerity. Oh, and there’s a good George Clooney anecdote 😉

The blurb: In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

AND

Disclaimer by Renée Knight

Disclaimer by Renee Knight book coverI am so bummed about this. I waited weeks for this to come into the library and I was really looking forward to it. But I didn’t enjoy it 😦 Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Finding a mysterious novel at her bedside plunges documentary filmmaker Catherine Ravenscroft into a living nightmare. Though ostensibly fiction, The Perfect Stranger recreates in vivid, unmistakable detail the terrible day Catherine became hostage to a dark secret, a secret that only one other person knew–and that person is dead.

Now that the past is catching up with her, Catherine’s world is falling apart. Her only hope is to confront what really happened on that awful day even if the shocking truth might destroy her.


3. What I’ll read next

The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

The Last Runaway Tracy Chevalier book coverI was so excited to read Fangirl I skipped over this. But I honestly will read it next! It’s the only one of Chevalier’s novels I haven’t read, and she hasn’t let me down so far.

 

 

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
24 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 29th July 2015

  1. Good to know you enjoyed Yes, Please! I don’t know much of her either, so it’s good to know that doesn’t matter when it comes to enjoying the book. I loved Fangirl as well! I can’t wait for Carry On to be published. 😀

    Thanks for visiting my WWW and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you’re enjoying Fangirl! It’s one of my favorite books of the year. 🙂 And I’m happy to hear you enjoyed Yes Please, although it wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. I never heard of any of Tracy Chevalier’s books, but I think I’ll check out The Last Runaway. ❤ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

