WWW Wednesday 15th July 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern book coverI’ll finish this today. I’m enjoying it, but have a few niggles I’ll cover in my review.

The blurb:

The circus arrives without warning. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called “Le Cirque des Reves,” and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway–a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per-formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.


2. The last book I read

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Never Let Me Go bNever Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro book coverRead my full review here. This is a haunting tale told by a mesmeric voice. Never Let Me Go is a thought-provoking rather than an enjoyable read which it would be better to come to knowing nothing about.

The blurb:

Click on the cover image to go to the Goodreads page and the blurb. But I encourage you to read this knowing as little background as possible.


3. What I’ll read next

I’m going to forget about my library order of Disclaimer by Renée Knight. It may turn up someday. In the meantime…

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler book coverWell, in theory I’m reading this next. It’s supposed to come into the library this week. Fingers crossed! And thank you to Anita (a fellow writer, reader and baker, check out her blog) for recommending this book as a light summery read. It ticks two boxes for me: it’s non-fiction (haven’t read any for ages) and something light and cheerful to break up a run of dark fantasy/dystopian fiction. I’m looking forward to it!

The blurb:

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

And if Yes Please doesn’t turn up quickly, I already have Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier from the library as back-ups.

Ready Player One book cover    The Last Runaway Tracy Chevalier book cover


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
29 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 15th July 2015

  1. So many good books! Looking forward to your review of Night Circus. I agree it’s better to read Never Let Me Go with very little background. Makes the ending more impactful. I love Poehler and hope you enjoy her book. Ready Player One is amazing. And I haven’t heard of that Chevalier book before and I’m intrigued. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really can’t wait to read The Night Circus, I’ve heard so much about it! I’ll be looking forward to your review. 🙂 I’m also thinking of reading Yes, Please next. I’m hoping that I will enjoy it more than the last non-fiction book I’ve read, Bossypants. I hope you enjoy it once you read it as well! My WWW if you want to check it out. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember your review of Bossypants and was surprised that Tina Fey didn’t come over as funny in book format as her writing does on TV (perhaps it’s what she does best!). I’ll check out your post now. Thanks for visiting and happy reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It sucks your library order isn’t in yet. I ordered a book near the end of May and it JUST came in so I feel your pain a bit. Hopefully it will come in soon. I’ve been meaning to read The Night Circus for a while now but it keeps slipping under my radar. I just don’t think about it until I see it I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also managed it with The Night Circus. I read the blurb properly when I was already about a third of the way through and I’m really glad as it gives a lot away. Blurbs are sometimes like movie trailers: they contain all the best bits!
      Thank you for visiting and happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am looking forward to your review of The Night Circus! I have been wanting to read that one for ages. Ready Player One is on my TBR as well.

    Happy Wednesday! Thank you for visiting my WWW. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

