Writing progress 5 July 2015 (JuNoWriMo wrap-up)

Peanuts Snoopy Schultz cartoon Snoopy writing returned by rock

Another week, another (very polite and kindly worded) rejection. So that’s 3/5 rejections so far for the first round of submissions to agents for my first novel, Art and Soul, which I sent out at the end of May. The positive way to view this? There are two who haven’t rejected my submission yet! 🙂

JuNoWriMo 2015 wrap-up

JuNoWriMo 2015 closed with me beating my writing target of 30,000 words by 231 words! This means, by my own criteria, I get to award myself this:

JuNoWriMo 2015 Winner badge

Thank you all for your encouraging comments and support 🙂 I particularly value them at the moment. I know it’s important to shrug off rejections and soldier on, but I wouldn’t be human if each one didn’t chip away at my confidence a little.

Getting back to happier matters, doing JuNoWriMo has got me back into the habit of writing every day. Even though the writing challenge is over, I’m staying on course with my own goal of averaging 1,000 words a day and having a first draft of my second novel finished by mid-September.

I hope your writing/revising is going well. And, in case you need it too, here’s some motivational cake:

Mini rosette vanilla cupcakes with two tone decorative buttercream frosting

Claire Huston / Art and Soul
3 thoughts on “Writing progress 5 July 2015 (JuNoWriMo wrap-up)

  1. A thousand words a day is pretty damn awesome, Claire! Yes, rejections – definitely disheartening. I am one of the most impatient people I know when it comes to that stuff – I want progress NOW. But at least you know you are part of an impressive club – the group of people who are out there trying – and I think pretty much every important author out there was rejected about a jillion times before getting published! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I keep telling myself that too! Every time I get down about it I give myself a little pep-talk which involves a short list of very successful authors whose work was knocked back several times. Including J.K. Rowling and William Golding! 🙂
      I’ve let the word count slide the past few days because I’ve been very busy with other things. But today I got some words down, so am feeling a bit better.

      Like

      • Claire – yes, I ALWAYS think about J.K. Rowling, one of the bestselling, most acclaimed writers and how she started off with not much at all and got a bunch of rejections before she hit it big. She’s a great motivator. I hope your writing is going well this week!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

