WWW Wednesday 1st July 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness book coverI’ve only read a couple of chapters of this so far. I’m waiting to see if I can find time to read it in one sitting and when I’m in a happy place. Firstly because it’s quite short and I think it will benefit from a straight read-through. Secondly, I have a son, and I get the feeling I will be sobbing at certain points while reading.

The blurb:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming… This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.


2. The last books I read

Two AGAIN this week!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Read my full review here. A Court of Thorns and Roses Sarah J. Maas book coverI really enjoyed this and only had a couple of niggles. I give it 4/5 and look forward to the sequel!

The blurb:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

AND

The Scorch Trails (Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner book coverRead my full review here.

Lots of action, familiar characters and a strong narrative arc make The Scorch Trials another quick, entertaining read. I think it was a little better than The Maze Runner.

I’m now hoping that the final installment of the series, The Death Cure, is a satisfying conclusion and gives me all the answers I need.

My version of a blurb:

The maze in Book 1 was just the start. The survivors are now thrown into trial 2: a 100-mile trek across a post-apocalytic, sun-baked wasteland with all sort of nasties between them and a supposed “safe haven”. And all in the name of helping to produce a cure for a disease which threatens to wipe out mankind. Who will make it? And who the heck are WICKED, the organization behind the trials?


3. What I’ll read next

I’ve given up hope of my library order of Disclaimer by Renée Knight turning up any time soon. So, I have these to keep me going:

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro The Death Cure by James Dashner Vicious VE Schwab book covers

Vicious by V.E. Schwab was on Kindle offer at 99p. After how much I enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic I couldn’t resist! Never Let Me Go has been on my TBR for ages…

I’ve just realized that’s all a bit dark. Might need to get a few light summery reads to cheer myself up!


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 1st July 2015

  1. ‘Never Let Me Go’ is a personal favorite. I have a signed copy on my shelves. I was disappointed with ‘The Maze Runner.’ Glad to hear you thought ‘The Scorch Trials was better. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read one of V. E. Schwab’s YA books (The Archived), which she publishes under Victoria Schwab, recently and one of my friends was recommending A Darker Shade of Magic, but I had no idea they were by the same person until I read this post.

    I’ve never read any Patrick Ness but A Monster Calls sounds really intriguing; I might have to add it to the TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have A Monster Calls on my TBR shelf as well! Hopefully I will be able to read it soon… I’m glad you liked ACOTAR and it’s good to hear The Scorch Trials is actually better than The Maze Runner. I might continue that series some time soon in the end. Vicious sounds like a great read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m now half way through A Monster Calls and it is brilliant so far. And mercifully short! Unfortunately while The Scorch Trials is better, Book 3 (The Death Cure) is a real disappointment (review later this week). Thanks for visiting and happy reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like a great read! You’re not the only one who was disappointed by The Death Cure, but I guess I will probably still read it just to know how the story ends… It’s always frustrating when the ending of a series isn’t satisfying.

        Liked by 1 person

    • The problem is, while The Scorch Trials is entertaining, I’ve now read The Death Cure and it is not (review coming soon). So I don’t know if I could recommend bothering with Book 2 if Book 3 is a waste of time… Hmn. Perhaps borrow The Scorch Trials from the library rather than buy it?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you’re enjoying The Monster Calls! XD I’ve heard great things and have been meaning to start it. I’ll be looking forward to your review on it!
    I’m so glad you enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses, I really loved it! 🙂 Hope you enjoy The Death Cure, I personally liked it, and I’m intrigued to see if you do as well! And Vicious also seems like an interesting read. 😉
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I finished A Monster Calls last night at 1.30am (that’s how good it is). I’m going to see if I can get a review together for tomorrow. It’s a tough one because it’s so good, I really want to do it justice.
      I’ve read 3 chapters of Vicious and it’s very promising!
      Glad to hear you enjoyed Canada Day, even if it did rain 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

