WWW Wednesday 24th June 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses Sarah J. Maas book coverI had heard good things about this first installment in a series from Sarah J. Maas from many book bloggers. And then there was a copy in my local library, sitting all alone and unloved. It called to me!

I’ve only just started so not much to report so far!

The blurb:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


2. The last books I read

TWO this week!

The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance by Kirsty Greenwood (2015)

The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance by Kirsty Greenwood book coverI had mixed feelings about this book, and would encourage you to read my full review. The summary is: there are many good things about this book, but it is definitely one for fans of comedy chick-lit. I think it is likely to irritate, rather than entertain, those who are not fans of this subgenre.

My version of a blurb:

When twenty-something singleton Jess Beam finds herself without a home, job or friends, she finds and starts to live with her estranged grandmother. Desperate for the cash from a prospective publishing deal, they embark on a project to see if Jess can make an apparently eternal bachelor scumbag fall in love with her using the tips fromher grandmother’s 1950s “good woman” guides to dating.

AND

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner by James Dashner book coverYou can read my full review here.

This is fine and was sufficiently entertaining to make me want to read the two other books in the series at some point. But it wasn’t so amazing that I had to download them right away and then deprive myself of vital sleep to read them (as I did with The Hunger Games).

If any of you have read The Scorch Trials or Death Cure, please let me know if I should bother!

The blurb:

When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas can remember is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade, an encampment at the centre of a bizarre and terrible maze.

Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know who or how they came to be there, or what’s happened to the world outside. All they know is that every morning when the walls slide back, they will risk everything to find out.


3. What I’ll read next

Disclaimer by Renee Knight book cover

Disclaimer by Renée Knight (2015) – if my order EVER turns up at my local library.

 

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner book cover

As a back-up, I have a copy of The Scorch Trials (part 2 of The Maze Runner trilogy) ready to go and…

 

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness book coverThank you to Becky at Blogs of a Bookaholic for recommending A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Her 5/5 review is wonderful and sent me straight to the online library catalogue to reserve a copy! Unfortunately I couldn’t get the version with the fantastic illustrations… 😦

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
30 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 24th June 2015

  1. I personally loved ACOTAR even better than the Throne Of Glass series; I hope you enjoy it as well! I have A Monster Calls on my TBR pile and I still need to read The Maze Runner sequels as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awh, thank you for the mention, I’m so happy you managed to pick up a copy! Even though it’s not the illustrated one, I’m sure the story will stand on its own and that you’ll enjoyed it. 🙂

    I felt exactly the same way about The Maze Runner, it has it’s flaws but it’s damn entertaining!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the shout-out! 🙂 I wasn’t hugely impressed with The Maze Runner either, and have been wondering whether to bother carrying on. I did love the movie though, and that hardly ever happens!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve tried to read The Maze Runner a couple of times now and it’s never quite hooked me. I did watch the movie and it was decent. I may have to give the series another shot at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

