Writing progress 22 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge)

calvin-cartoon-on-procrastinating-and-rationalizing

Sorry, but I have nothing new to report on getting a literary agent to represent my first novel, Art and Soul. I’m still waiting for further responses to my first round of submissions.

In the meantime I am facing down the blank page, adding words to my second novel in smaller bursts that I would like. This week has been unusually busy, but I did want to write more. Damn the procrastination monsters. When they team up with the exhaustion monsters they are formidable opponents.

cartoon writing-procrastination-and-panic shannon wheelerI’m still fighting to hit my JuNoWriMo 2015 challenge target. I knew I’d never complete 50,000 words in a month (unless my toddler decided to become fully independent!), so I set myself a more realistic goal of 30,000 words in 30 days.

And though I’mΒ  a couple of thousand words behind, I’m all for celebrating small victories, preferably with a badge and a large piece of cake:

JuNoWriMo 2015 20000 words milestone button graphicΒ  Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream and raspberry ripple ice cream

If you’re writing and/or taking part in a writing challenge, I hope it’s going well and you’re winning the good fight against your procrastination monsters.

Claire Huston / Art and Soul
5 thoughts on “Writing progress 22 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge)

  1. I really am limited by energy and my first book took years (to my embarrassment) in the making. I hope you get a literary agent soon, that process was just too exhausting for me so I’ve opted to go with self publishing on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      I’ve set myself a limit for the number of agents I’m going to try submitting to. If I hit the limit and no-one has shown any interest, I’ll be heading for the self-publishing route. I just want my book to see the light one day. As you know, it’s an awful lot of effort, and then to just put it in a drawer seems an terrible waste.
      It’s so exciting that your pub day is coming up soon! And I really like your book cover (I know that’s shallow, but I do like a nice cover πŸ™‚

      Like

      • That sounds like a plan and I wish you the best of luck. I agree, when you have written something of that magnitude it really would be a shame for it never to see the light of day and self publishing at least gets it out there. I’m excited to have my pub day nearing and thanks for your input re the cover πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

