WWW Wednesday 17th June 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance by Kirsty Greenwood (2015)

The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance by Kirsty Greenwood book coverI’m nearly half way through this and have very mixed feelings. I’ll need to wait until the end until I say more… writing a review could be difficult.

The blurb:

Jessica Beam is a girl who knows how to party. Only lately she’s been forgetting to turn up for work on time. Or in clean clothes. Down on her luck, out of a job and homeless, Jess seeks the help of her long-lost grandmother.

Things aren’t going well for Matilda Beam, either. Her 1950s Good Woman guide books are out of print, her mortgage repayments are staggering and her granddaughter wears neon Wonderbras!

When a lifeline from a London publisher arrives, the pair have an opportunity to secure the roof over their heads – by invigorating the Good Woman guides and transforming modern, rebellious Jess into a demure vintage lady.

The true test of their make-over will be to capture the heart of notorious London playboy Leo Frost and prove that Matilda’s guides still work. It’s going to take commitment, nerves of steel and one seriously pointy bra to pull this off…


2. The last book I read

Allegiant by Veronica Roth (2013)

Allegiant Divergent 3 by Veronica RothYou can read my full review here. Please note, it contains SPOILERS!

My quick opinion is that, sadly, this was the weakest book of Roth’s dystopian trilogy in terms of plot and pace. I could have given up on it two thirds of the way through and not been bothered how the series ended. However, I have to give points to Roth for allowing her characters to be true to themselves, even though that meant denying her readers the satisfaction of a happily ever after.

The blurb:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.


3. What I’ll read next

Disclaimer by RenΓ©e Knight (2015) – still on order from my local library. I hope this comes in soon! If not, I’ll read The Maze Runner because it’s already in my clutches.

Disclaimer by Renee Knight book coverOne of the most hyped titles of the year so far. Disclaimer is a thriller about a woman who finds a book by her bedside which is supposedly a work of fiction, but which describes an event in her past which is a big secret she doesn’t want anyone to know about.

I’m a bit wary of books which everyone says are amazing. I was burned by The Da Vinci Code. But I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews from excellent book bloggers, so I’ve decided to give Disclaimer a go.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 17th June 2015

  1. I’ve seen an awful lot of positive feedback on The Vintage Guide in my Twitter timeline; I do wonder sometimes if people are being 100% totally honest in their opinions because of the ‘relationship’ they have with the author (controversial!!). Look forward to your thoughts πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think that’s controversial! I see so many blogs where the reviewer gives everything 5 stars and I think, “Oh come on, you can’t love everything that much!”. I’m going to finish it and then leave my thoughts to brew a couple of days before writing something balanced! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry ‘Allegiant’ wasn’t for you. I wasn’t a huge fan of the split POV and that ruined for me from page one. I do agree that Roth was right to be true to Tris and Four even though we didn’t like it. The characters were consistent and true to themselves which is good from a YA novel. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to give her points for being brave. It would have been easy to go the happily ever after route. I’ve thought about it, and that would have been weird. After everything the characters have suffered and lost, for it to end with a white wedding and party would have been ridiculous (although at least it would have left us all smiling!).

      Like

  3. Disclaimer sounds like an interesting read; definitely better than The Maze Runner… I didn’t really like that one as much as most people, although I will still read both sequels at some point. Allegiant wasn’t a favorite of mine either.

    Happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My library has let me down with Disclaimer. I’m going to have to read The Maze Runner first. At least if I don’t enjoy it I’ll can look forward to Disclaimer turning up!
    Thanks for visiting and happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

