Writing progress 15 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge)

I came through on my promise about the chocolate fudge cake! If you haven’t checked it out yet, go here now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Enough with chocolate (ah, but can you ever have enough?)! Back to the writing…

Snoopy peanuts cartoon even typwriter hates stories

If you follow my ramblings, you’ll know that 2 weeks ago I sent the first 3 chapters of my first novel, Art and Soul, to 5 literary agents. In week one post-submission, I got 1 rejection. In week two, I got another.

I am staying cheerful about this. Firstly because everyone gets rejected and secondly because the rejections are just so darn polite and encouraging.

I was talking to my friend about this the other day. She is currently applying for jobs and her response gave me pause for thought: “Well at least they reply to you and are nice about it. I just have to wait and, if after 8 weeks I’ve heard nothing, I have to assume they’ve rejected my application.” So, you see, it could be worse.

And in the meantime, I continue with the JuNoWriMo 2015 challenge and my personal target of writing 30,000 words in the month of June.

JuNoWriMo 2015 10000 words milestone button graphicI’ve fallen a little bit behind ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So far, I’ve written 13,500. And I’m likely to fall further behind this week because I have a lot of family commitments. I’ll just have to do my best to write anything at all.

But I’ve passed the 10K-word milestone and so get to give myself a badge! (Yes, I loved getting reward stickers from the dentist when I was a kid ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

ย Claire Huston / Art and Soul
3 thoughts on “Writing progress 15 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge)

  1. Claire,
    So fantastic you’re doing this! I’ve heard of NaNoWriMo and always wanted to do it but not this June one!

    Good luck with your novel, as well! That has to be very exciting to be working on. I’ve always wanted to write a novel, since I was a little kid – and it’s definitely still on the bucket list. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much! I’m finding the writing challenge really useful to motivate myself to write anything when collapsing in front of the TV seems a better option!
      I’m glad writing a novel is still on your list ๐Ÿ™‚ I made a few goes at writing one before but always gave up. This was the first story where I could see the ending and had to get there. Thank you for the luck with the novel – I going to need it, it’s such a competitive industry. Have to stay positive! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

