Recipe | Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting

Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream icing finished view from sideI’m gradually making good on my “fantastic idea” to make all the cakes which pop up in my first novel, Art and Soul. This week it’s chocolate fudge cake, which is the favourite of Becky, my main character.

I searched around for a while, looking for a chocolate cake recipe I believed would produce the texture I wanted. I finally went with one from BBC Good Food and it’s delicious!

Ingredients

  • 175 g self-raising flour
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 150 g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs (I used medium)
  • 150 ml (1/4 pint) vegetable oil
  • 150 ml (1/4 pint) semi skimmed milk (I used a mix of skimmed and full… it was what we had in the fridge!)
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup

Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting close up on rosettesMethod

  • So easy. Sieve all the dry ingredients into a bowl and then put them in a food processor.
  • Add the eggs, golden syrup, milk and oil. Blend everything until smooth.
  • The mixture is quite liquid – that’s ok! Pour it into two, lined 7-inch round tins and then bake in an oven pre-heated to 180 degrees C for 25-30 minutes.
Chocolate fudge cake mixture in tin before baking

The mixture pre-bake is very runny – don’t be alarmed!

Chocolate fudge cake just baked left to cool

The cake after baking – rises nicely!

For the coating and filling – blend these ingredients together to form a smooth cream:

  • 150 g butter/margarine
  • 300 g icing sugar
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder

You don’t have to pipe the buttercream between the two cakes or on top, but I felt like giving rosettes a try. I covered the cake in a smooth-ish layer first, applying the buttercream with a knife, then used a piping bag fitted with a star tip to make the rosettes.

Chocolate fudge cake with a smooth layer of chocolate buttercream before final decorations

Smooth layer of buttercream before piping decorations

Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream icing seen from above rosettesChocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream icing cut view

Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream and raspberry ripple ice cream

This cake is a great dessert when served warm with some ice cream!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

48 thoughts on “Recipe | Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting

  1. Pingback: Writing progress 15 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge) | Art and Soul

  2. Pingback: Writing progress 22 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge) | Art and Soul

  3. This was my hands down favourite treat as a child!! Looks so yummy my mouth is watering slightly….ok I’m drooling!! 😀 I love the idea of making all the foods associated with a book but it must feel so special when it’s your own.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Recipe | After Eight chocolate brownies | Art and Soul

  5. Pingback: Recipe | Easy Maltesers rocky road (one for chocoholics!) | Art and Soul

  6. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate cheesecake brownies | Art and Soul

    • 🙂
      When I worked in an office, I baked A LOT because I could always take the cakes/brownies etc. to work and they would disappear and it cheered people up too. Then when it was just my husband and I, I quit baking for a while, because I was accused (unfairly, I might add) of making him fat. But now I have a toddler who burns everything he eats in about 5 seconds, I’m back to baking 🙂 I would add at this point that he does mostly eat healthy things… the odd bit of cake never did anyone any hard.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s the same where I work, every time someone brings in food it’s gone within two hours 🙂 I used to bake more, too, but now that I work until 7pm every day and work on my book in the morning there’s less time for it. Still, I’ll make a few exceptions… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 30th December 2015 | Art and Soul

  8. Pingback: Top baking posts of 2015 | Art and Soul

  9. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate orange cups | Art and Soul

  10. Pingback: Recipe | Snickers muffins with two-colour buttercream swirl | Art and Soul

  11. Pingback: Recipe | Heavenly chocolate cake with fudge icing | Art and Soul

  12. This looks gorgeous! I really like the piped rosette effect, I really must get myself a piping bag with all the bits. I’m a massive sucker for a generously iced chocolate cake, so I think I’ll pin this for next time chocolate cake is called for. Visiting via your more recent choc cake post, via your feature on Occupation (M)other which was a great read. I think I’ll be sticking around 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂
      If I had to choose between the two cakes, I’d rather have the chocolate fudge cake (sorry, Mary Berry!). I think I’ll bake something not-chocolatey next week for balance. And then probably back to chocolate… 🙂

      Like

  13. Pingback: Recipe | Double chocolate Easter cake! With mini eggs! | Art and Soul

  14. Pingback: Recipe | White chocolate layer cake with raspberry buttercream filling | Art and Soul

  15. Sweet geney mac, that icing is done amazingly! How great that you must be able to write so easily on baking, the book I’m writing at the moment is actually me living out my desires of really, really wanting to be able to bake and actually (in real life) the ability to produce something like this is way beyond a dream. Baby steps though, am still trying to master the icing on fairy cakes! Wow and well done x ps I adore the BBC Good Food website!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: Recipe | Easy microwave mug cake. Chocolate cake in under 5 minutes! | Art and Soul

  17. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate and vanilla marble loaf cake | Art and Soul

  18. Pingback: Recipe | Double chocolate nest cupcakes with chocolate eggs | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

