Writing progress 8 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo challenge)

There will be chocolate fudge cake here next week, I promise! I’m a bit behind with my posts. In the meantime…

Snoopy writer on rejection cartoon peanutsLast week I submitted sample chapters of my first novel, Art and Soul, to five literary agents.

I already have my first rejection.

It pinged into my inbox only two days after I sent my submission, making me wonder if anyone could possibly have had the time to read it, or whether they took one look at the book’s genre and rejected it because they’re not seeking to represent any more contemporary romance at the moment.

Either way, fair enough.

They’re busy people who receive thousands of submissions a year and know what they have the best chance of selling to publishers.

And while I’m waiting to hear back from the others…

JuNoWriMo 2015 inkwell quill flower and bird logo button I’m following some excellent advice from other writers and getting stuck into my second book. To give myself a kick start, I’ve joined JuNoWriMo (June Novel Writing Month) which challenges writers to complete 50,000 words in 30 days.

I set myself the more realistic target of 30,000 words (based on how quickly I wrote my first book), and I’m pleased to say that I’m on course! At the end of week one of the challenge I have written 7,800 words. many of which will be discarded when I come to editing, but it’s 7,800 words more than I had a week ago.

How are you doing with your writing? Are you taking part/have taken part in JuNoWriMo or any other writing challenges?

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
Leave a Reply

