WWW Wednesday 3 June 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (2015)

This is great. A Darker Shade of Magic book cover by V E SchwabI’ll finish this later today and I can’t imagine anything can happen in the last few pages that will make me change my opinion about how good it is. Full review soon!

The blurb:

Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London—but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive—trickier than they hoped.


2. The last book I read

Divergent by Veronica Roth (2011)

Divergent by Veronica RothYou can read my full review here. Here’s the short version:

Divergent is a well-written page-turner with a strong female lead. However, while it is entertaining – particularly the first third – it lacks the originality and emotional pull of other dystopian series openers such as The Hunger Games or Ender’s Game.

Overall this is a good read (and merits its many 4/5 star reviews). Apart from a bit of slack in the middle (when initiation training starts to drag on – a problem Ender’s Game also suffers with), it rattles along at a great pace, leaving the reader little chance to get bored or distracted. However, I’m not convinced that Roth will be able to keep up my interest over the remaining two books.

The blurb: For sixteen-year-old Tris, the world changes in a heartbeat when she is forced to make a terrible choice. Turning her back on her family, Tris ventures out, alone, determined to find out where she truly belongs.

Shocked by the brutality of her new life, Tris can trust no one. And yet she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her. The hardest choices may yet lie ahead….


3. What I’ll read next

Insurgent by Veronica Roth (2012)

Insurgent by Veronica Roth book coverIf I can get a copy from my local library, I’ll move onto the second installment of the Divergent series. I think it says a lot that I’m not willing to spend my own money on getting a copy… I haven’t heard great things about it but I want to know what happens next!

The blurb: Tris’ initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable – and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
31 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 3 June 2015

  1. I love all three of thses books. V E Schwab has such an amazing writing style. And a darker shade of magic was a fantastic book. Same goes for Divergent. I read it long ago but I stil love it more than the other books I’ve read in the meantime.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s my first book by Victoria Schwab, but I’ll be looking for her others and waiting for the sequel to ADSOM. So good! Both it and Divergent kept me up reading to the early hours of the morning – always a good sign. I just hope that Insurgent isn’t a disappointment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked ‘Insurget’ more than ‘Divergent.’ Since I knew the characters already, I could enjoy it from page one. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, I can highly recommend it. I think the only thing will upset me is that the author is clearly going to leave so many things open so she can continue the series. It will kill me to wait to find out what happens to the characters next. 🙂
      I got Insurgent from the library today… I hope it’s good. I’m glad you loved the whole series.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have such a random collection of things on my TBR pile. I don’t really have a plan – I keep changing what I’m reading next, mostly by following recommendations from you guys! So please keep telling me what’s good 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Like

    • The good thing about ADSOM is that it’s an easy read as well as a good read. It seems to flash past because it sucks you in. Other fantasy novels now have a lot to live up to!
      I got Insurgent from the library today – so that will definitely be the next thing on my list. Fingers crossed it’s as good as the first one. The middle book in a series is often the let down.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you about Divergent – good, solid story, but not quite as good as Hunger Games. Still, I read and enjoyed the rest of the series. Hope you enjoy them!

    And I’ve added A Darker Shade of Magic to by TBR. I’ve never read any of Schwab’s books, but I’ve seen her at YALLFest these past two years, so it’s about time I actually read her stuff. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope Insurgent is as good. Now sitting on my bedside table!
      ADSOM is really worth reading. Particularly if you are already a fan of fantasy fiction. Original, imaginative and compelling stuff. I can’t wait for the next in the series!
      Thanks for visiting my blog and happy reading!

      Like

  4. Looking forward to reading your review on A Darker Shade of Magic! I’ve been meaning to read it but never got around to it. As for Divergent, I’m glad you liked it! Looking forward to see how you like Insurgent. I really enjoyed it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been wanting to read A Darker Shade Of Magic for ages! I have a copy on my shelf, so I really don’t know why I haven’t yet. I hope you enjoy Insurgent! I was a bit disappointed myself by both sequels… Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

