WWW Wednesday 27-05-15

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Coming Up Roses by Rachael Lucas (2015)

Coming Up Roses by Rachael LucasThis was only published last Thursday (21 May) and will possibly be the most current thing I ever get to review! I enjoyed Rachael’s debut, Sealed with a Kiss, and the novella follow-up, Sealed with a Christmas Kiss, so I’m optimistic about her second novel.

I’m only a third of the way through this book and will post a full review when I’ve finished next week.

 

The blurb:

Would-be gardener Daisy can’t believe her luck when her parents announce they’re off on a gap year, leaving her in charge of their garden. After a turbulent few months, a spell of quiet in the countryside is just what she needs.

A shoulder to cry on wouldn’t go amiss either – so when Daisy comes across Elaine and Jo, she breathes a sigh of relief. But her new friends are dealing with dramas of their own . . .

As Daisy wrestles the garden into something resembling order, her feelings for handsome Irishman George, begin to take root. But Daisy’s heart’s desire – her parent’s garden – is under threat, and she is forced to confront nosey neighbours and fight greedy developers. Village life is turning out to be far from peaceful.


2. The last book I read

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier (2009)

Remarkable Creatures Tracy Chevalier book coverYou can see my full review of this book here. Short version: I enjoyed it and I thought Chevalier managed to maintain the high standard she set herself with her previous novels, including Girl with a Pearl Earring and Burning Bright.

If you’ve enjoyed any of her previous books or even if you haven’t read anything by her yet, I encourage you to add Remarkable Creatures to you TBR list.

The blurb (shortened slightly!):

A stunning novel of female friendship, forbidden love and evolution from the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Remarkable Creatures is a stunning novel of how one woman’s gift transcends class and gender to lead to some of the most important discoveries of the nineteenth century. Above all, it is a revealing portrait of the intricate and resilient nature of female friendship.


3. What I’ll read next

Divergent by Veronica Roth (2000)

Divergent by Veronica RothFirstly, thanks to Analee over at Book Snacks for giving me the push I needed to finally add this to my TBR pile. I hope it’s good enough to make me want to read the rest of the series!

The blurb: For sixteen-year-old Tris, the world changes in a heartbeat when she is forced to make a terrible choice. Turning her back on her family, Tris ventures out, alone, determined to find out where she truly belongs.

Shocked by the brutality of her new life, Tris can trust no one. And yet she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her. The hardest choices may yet lie ahead….


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 27-05-15

  1. Glad to hear you liked ‘Remarkable Creatures.’ I’m a fan of Chevalier. And ‘Divergent’ is a solid read. I liked ‘Insurgent’ as well but wasn’t a huge fan of how the series ended. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was keeping up with Chevalier’s novels quite well, but then let that slide after Burning Bright. It was good to catch up with her – only one behind now! I think Remarkable Creatures would make a good film too. Apparently someone bought the rights but nothing has come of it yet.
      Happy reading and thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

