Mini meadows – a family trip to the farm

I’d wanted to take our son (who’s 2 and a half) to a farm for a while. Mainly because I’d like him to know what a sheep looks like that isn’t a clay animation! But without a car I can’t make it during the week and weekends always seemed to slip by without it happening.

Then recently my other half took a week’s holiday and, after hearing lots of recommendations from other mums who live in the Rugby area, we finally made it to Mini Meadows Farm in Northamptonshire. I’m happy to say that it didn’t disappoint. We had a great time!

Lamb at Mini Meadows

One of the friendly lambs at Mini Meadows

First of all, it’s a great place of kids. As well as the animals, there are slides and swings, a tractor to climb all over, a large indoor sandpit and a toy tractor driving range. We missed the times to hold the guinea pigs and other small animals, but there was plenty else to see and do.

Shetland pony at Mini Meadows

Feeding the Shetland Pony at Mini Meadows

When you’ve paid your entrance fee (under 2s go free, older children £2 and adults £3), you can buy a feed bucket for an extra £1.50. This contains some carrot and three coloured cups containing different types of feed. On the side of the bucket are instructions as to which feed is for which animals. In the pic above you can see my son and husband giving some carrot to the Shetland pony.

Outdoors you can see (and feed, with the exception of the rhea – a group of ostrich-like birds): cows, pigs, lambs, alpaca, chickens, ducks, geese, donkeys and goats. There is also a llama – but I’ve never been too fond of them. I think the feeling was mutual as it spat not long after we’d passed it!

Goats and pig at Mini Meadows

Goats and pig at Mini Meadows

Alpaca at Mini Meadows

One of the alpaca at Mini Meadows

Duck and geese pond at Mini Meadows

The duck and geese pond at Mini Meadows

Indoors there are also rabbits, guinea pigs and even chipmunks!

Mini Meadows also sells lots of different breeds of chicken. Including this one below, who we took to calling the “llama chicken” due to her impressive quiff:

Llama hens at Mini Meadows

Silkie bantam hens at Mini Meadows Farm

So, if you’re able to take your little one(s) to a “school farm” near you, it’s a great way to spend a morning or afternoon.

© Claire Huston / Art and Soul

5 thoughts on “Mini meadows – a family trip to the farm

    • I hope you make it the next time you’re over! We have to go again – I think my son will get more from it when he’s older. He’s still a bit wary of some of the animals (although I suppose that’s a good thing in some ways…). 🙂

      Like

  1. This looks ah-mazing. Right up my street and so affordable. I remember going to one and peeing my pants laughing because a heard of tiny goats knocked my 4 year old brother over so they could try to get at the sandwiches in his rucksack. He didn’t see the humour…and neither did I when they turned their attentions to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I think if we’d got any closer to the grumpy llama it would have had a go at us too! I was really pleased with how affordable it was. We went to a bigger farm when we were in the Cotswolds recently and it was over double the price of Mini Meadows. That would be ok if you knew your kids were happy to stay all day, but at the moment my son gets sick of anything after an hour 🙂

      Like

      • We’re always on the look out for a bargain. It can be tough here though. We decided to go to the aquarium the other day and realized when we rocked up that entry alone would cost us 100 GBP! For two adults who weren’t bothered and a 10 month old who might hate it. Um…nope.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

