WWW Wednesday 20-05-15

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. This is the first time I’m taking part (after seeing BookBoodle‘s post about it – thanks!).

IMG_1384-0

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier (2009)

Remarkable Creatures Tracy Chevalier book coverI’m only one chapter into this book, but so far, so good. The opening is an excellent short story in itself: a tale of a baby girl who gets struck by lightning but, unlike the rest of her companions, survives.

I enjoyed Tracy Chevaliers’s five books which were published before this one, so I have high hopes for Remarkable Creatures.

The blurb (shortened slightly!):

A stunning novel of female friendship, forbidden love and evolution from the bestselling author of Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Remarkable Creatures is a stunning novel of how one womanโ€™s gift transcends class and gender to lead to some of the most important discoveries of the nineteenth century. Above all, it is a revealing portrait of the intricate and resilient nature of female friendship.


2. The last book I read

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (2012)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn book cover I know, I know… I’m well behind the rest of the world in reading this book. I haven’t seen the film, but unfortunately I had seen enough clips of it to already be in on a major spoiler before I started reading. However, lack of surprises aside, I enjoyed the book. Although there are few likeable characters, they are all drawn in depth and their voices are consistent and compelling. With the exception of a couple of scenes which dragged on, the book has excellent pace and achieves a balance between the more tense moments and revelations, and back story.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers. Be warned: it’s not an uplifting read, although there are several moments of dark humour. While not the masterpiece some claim, it is a very well constructed book that shouldn’t disappoint readers.

The blurb:

Who are you? What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone. So what really did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?


3. What I’ll read next

Amanda’s Wedding by Jenny Colgan (2000)

Amanda's wedding by Jenny Colgan book coverNow you’re probably thinking: “This woman reads a truly random mixture of stuff!” And that’s true. I’ve discovered contemporary rom-coms since becoming a mother and only having a few minutes to read a day. The stories are happy escapism, they zip along nicely and don’t require too much effort from my exhausted brain.

I’ve previously read Operation Sunshine by the same author and, although it slipped into farce in places, it was a funny, warm, easy read. I’m hoping for the same from Amanda’s Wedding.

The blurb (again, greatly shortened!):

A deliciously warm and hilarious romp of a novel set in twenty-something heartland.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal

ย Claire Huston / Art and Soul
9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 20-05-15

  1. I enjoy most of Chevalier’s books and haven’t heard of that one. I hope you enjoy it. I only read Gone Girl once the movie came out so I was a bit behind the curve as well but avoided spoilers! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha ha don’t worry you’re not the only one slow with Gone Girl; I didn’t read it at all yet! Looking forward to reading it though, and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. Remarkable Creatures seems interesting, gonna have to check it out. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Gone Girl a while ago… There is such a hype this novel that I ended up being disappointed by it. It’s not like I didn’t enjoy it at all, but the characters were a bit annoying and I guess I expected something better. I’m glad you enjoyed it better than I did though! Remarkable Creatures sounds like an interesting read; happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I tried reading Gone Girl not too long ago, and I ended up not really enjoying it. I think it was because the characters were so despicable, that they didn’t give me any reason to care what happened to them. Thanks for stopping by my WWW. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

